APA National Elections


Voting for the 2014 National Elections closed on Friday, January 31st at 5:00 PM Eastern Standard Time (EST). The Committee of Tellers approved the following results for the 2014 National Election. Please note that these results are considered public, but not official until approved by the Board of Trustees at their March 8-9 meeting.

 President-Elect Renee L. Binder, MD ---------------WINNER (46.0%; 59.7%)
Mark Hyman Rapaport, MD (30.3%; 40.3%)
James E. Nininger, MD (23.6%)
 Treasurer Frank W. Brown, MD---------------WINNER (58.7%)
James Allen Greene, MD (41.3%)
 Trustee-At-Large Anita S. Everett, MD---------------WINNER (60.1%)
Stephen A. McLeod-Bryant, MD (39.9%)
 Area 2 Trustee* Vivian B. Pender, MD---------------WINNER (62.1%)
Jack Drescher, MD (37.9%)
 Area 5 Trustee* R. Scott Benson, MD---------------WINNER (54.3%)
Gary S. Weinstein, MD (45.7%)
Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect (RFMTE) **                       Ravi N. Shah, MD---------------WINNER (49.6%; 60.3%)
Heather M. Liebherr, DO (28.3%; 39.7%)
Vittoria DeLucia, MD (22.1%)

 *elected by eligible voters of their respective Area
**elected by APA Resident-Fellow Members

Eligible voters are currently active voting members of the APA not designated as a Medical Student or International Member. Election Guidelines, developed by the Elections Committee and approved by the Board of Trustees, are intended to provide a level playing field for candidates. Campaigning by candidates and supporters begins when the slate of candidates is announced on November 1.

2013 National Election Results


Members interested in running for office should review the eligibility requirements. To determine the next time a position becomes available, please review the roster of the current Board and Trustees to note the tenures of each position. The 2015 Election will include the following offices for which nominations can be forwarded to election@psych.org:

- President-Elect
- Secretary
- Early Career Psychiatrist (ECP) Trustee
- Minority/Underrepresented Representative (M/UR) Trustee
- Area 1 Trustee
- Area 4 Trustee
- Area 7 Trustee
- Resident-Fellow Member Trustee-Elect (RFMTE) 

Voting: The APA utilizes a hybrid balloting process for national elections. This means that an eligilbe voting member can expect to receive either an email with a link to their electronic ballot or a paper ballot sent via USPS. All voters with a valid email address on file with the APA are sent electronic ballots, while voters with invalid or missing email addresses are mailed paper ballots. Voters who have yet to cast a vote in the election are sent an electronic ballot once a week until the voting deadline. Please look for an email with "APA Election" in the subject line and ensure that the email is not read as spam. Voters receiving a paper ballot can vote online by following the instructions on their paper ballot. Eligible voting members without an electronic or paper ballot, can vote online through the APA website using their member login. If you do not know your member login or are experiencing trouble with your login, please call 1-888-35-PSYCH for assistance. Eligible voting members without a ballot and not able to vote through the APA website, can request a link to their electronic ballot by forwarding a request to election@psych.org by the ballot request deadline. The APA ensures the secure handling of ballots through the reputable third party election management firm, Survey & Ballot.  

Psychiatric News Articles

2014 Election
"Meet the Candidates..." Dec 2013
"Three Candidates Vie to Become..." Dec 2013

2013 Election
"Meet the Candidates..."
 Dec 2012
"Slate of Candidates Announced..." Nov 2012 

On the Nominations process...
"Run for Office and Help APA Achieve Its Goals"  Sept 2012
"Nominations Sought for MUR Trustee"  May 2012

On the new MUR Trustee position...
"New Trustee Position Enhances Minority..."  Jan 2011

On the Elections process...
"Volunteer Leadership"  Dec 2001
"APA Election Complaint"  Mar 2012
"APA's Election Guidelines Emphasize Dignity..."  Nov 2012