Lilly Resident Research Award



Philip Matthew Gerretsen, MD, MSW, Toronto General Hospital
Manuscript: Illness Denial in Schizophrenia Spectrum Disorders: A Function of Left Hemisphere Dominance.
Training Director: Bruce G, Pollock, MD, PhD

Iman Parhami, MD, MPH, Delaware Psychiatry Residency Program
Manuscript: Gambling and the Onset of Comorbid Mental Disorders: A Longitudinal Study Evaluating Severity and Specific Symptoms.
Training Director: Imran Trimzi, MD

Mercedes Perez-Rodriguez, MD, PhD, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Manuscript: Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor and Amygdala Habituation in Borderline Personality Disorder.
Training Director: Bruce M. Levine, MD

Malathi Pilla, MD, and Trinadha Rao Pilla, MD, Southern Illinois University
Manuscript: Trends, Cardiac Catheterizations, Revascularization and Inpatient Mortality after Acute Myocardial Infarction in Patients with Schizophrenia, Bipolar Disorder, Anxiety Disorder and Depressive Disorders.
Training Director: Stephen Soltys, MD

Nazanin Alavi Tabari, MD, Kingston General Hospital
Manuscript: Suicidal Behavior Among Youth Referred for Urgent Psychiatric Consult to a Hospital Based Clinic with History of Bullying.
Training Director: Ruzicka Jokic, MD


The American Psychiatric Association is pleased to announce the continuation of the annual APA/Lilly Resident Research Award Competition.  This award, supported by an unrestricted educational grant from Eli Lilly and Company provides an honorarium of $1,500 to five psychiatry residents who submit the best, original, unpublished scientific paper.  In addition, a $1,000 award is given to the residency program in which the resident was in training at the time the work was completed.  The award will be presented to the recipients during the 2015 APA Annual Meeting in Toronto, Ontario Canada.

Each resident may submit one document which outlines the scope and results of the research conducted.  The research study should be in the form of a finished paper suitable for publication.  Please note that the paper must describe original scientific research; case reports and literature reviews will not be accepted.  Applications will not be accepted from previous winners of this award.

In order to ensure a fair and impartial review, the Award Board reviews each submission anonymously with no identifying information on the resident or the affiliated training program.  It would therefore be helpful if the resident’s name is not printed on each page of the document.

The nomination packet should include the following:

All submissions must be postmarked no later than Monday, December 1, 2014, to be considered.  Papers postmarked after that date will not be accepted.

Please forward all correspondence to:
American Psychiatric Association
Attn: Ernesto A. Guerra
1000 Wilson Blvd. Ste. 1825
Arlington, VA 22209

If you have any questions for require additional information about the award requirements, please contact Ernesto A. Guerra at 703-907-8622;1-800-852-1390 or e-mail. Electronic submissions should be sent to Ernesto.  

*This grant, fellowship or award is supported by a pharmaceutical company that is required to publicly report any money provided to the physician, whether as stipend, meals, travel or otherwise in support of this grant, fellowship or award on a public database through the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.  Reporting is legally required only if the physician has completed their four year residency in psychiatry.  However, some of the sponsoring companies may report any physician payments regardless of the stage of their career.


APA/Lilly Resident Research Award Guidelines